Parlatino President Negotiates Entry of Caribbean Islands

Panama, (Prensa Latina) The president of the Latin American Parliament (Parlatino), Congressman Elijah Castillo, reported his efforts to incorporate the Caribbean islands and thus give greater dynamism to the organization.

Parlatino is currently made up of 23 countries, including only five Caribbean islands: Cuba, Dominican Republic, Aruba, Curacao, and St. Martin.

Bahamas, Bermuda, Barbados, Guadeloupe, Grenada, Cayman, British Virgin Islands, Martinique, St. Lucia, Haiti, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago and St. Vincent and the Grenadines are among the islands that would be added.

Castillo also highlighted progress for Parlatino to become the future legislative body of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States.

According to the executive secretary of the Latin American Parliament, Colombian Humberto Pelaez, the continent is about to take the leap in integration with the Community and the creation of this block in the Summit of Heads of State on July 5 and 6 in Caracas , Venezuela.

One response to “Parlatino President Negotiates Entry of Caribbean Islands

  1. Pingback: Caribbean Islands Islands

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s